Three Queensland legends join the Sportsman Hotel Drag Hall of Fame

The Sportsman Hotel has revealed the names of three local stars who will enter its Queensland Drag Hall of Fame this year.

The Drag Hall of Fame is located in the venue’s Lounge Bar, which is proudly the birthplace of Brisbane drag.

Each year, Sporties honors a group of artists for their contributions to the Queensland drag scene and the LGBTIQ+ community.

And on Saturday February 12, Sporties will induct three more Queensland legends.

Queensland drag legends Sasha Trajik-Mole and Iona Toyboy (above, left and centre) will be inducted, as will legendary Queensland artist and activist Toye de Wilde (above right).

“We honor selected artists who have contributed so much to our community with their entertainment and charity work,” the Sporties team said.

The three local icons will all be honored at an induction ceremony at the venue on Saturday February 12.

Sasha and Iona will accept their honors in person, but unfortunately Toye will not be able to attend.

Wanda D’Parke will host the ceremony beginning at 10 p.m., with special performances that evening.

Wanda, who is a member of the Drag Hall of Fame, said the honor recognizes the artists’ contributions to the community, the local drag scene as well as activism and charity work.

“Sporties decides Hall of Fame inductees based on many criteria,” Wanda explained.

“It’s about the entertainer himself, how he takes care of his punters, as well as everything he’s done for the community.

“It’s recognition for a long and dedicated career in our community and an incredible contribution to the Brisbane drag scene.”

Long list of legends at the Sportsman Hotel Drag Hall of Fame

The Sportsman Hotel immortalizes each member of the Drag Hall of Fame on the wall of the Lounge Bar.

Drag legends Miss Synthetic, Dame Sybil Von Thorndyke, Dame Liz Taylor and Wanda D’Parke premiered in 2017.

Then Betty Nature, Trixie Onassis, Yana Michelle and also longtime Queensland producer Gavin Anthony joined them.

In late 2019, the Sportsman Hotel then inducted drag star Candy Surprise. Artists Malika and Ella Va’lay followed in January 2020.

Last year, drag legends Tara Ra Boom Deay, Sue Wridge and veteran showgirl Hazel La Belle received the honor.

The Sportsman Hotel 2022 Drag Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place at the Brisbane site on Saturday 12 February. For more information, visit the Facebook page or the Sportsman Hotel website here.

For the latest lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and queer (LGBTIQ) news in Australia, visit Consult our latest magazines or find us on Facebook, TwitterInstagram and YouTube.

Comments are closed.